At a glance
- What changed
- OKX announced four new strategic investors at a $25 billion pre-money valuation.
- Who it affects
- OKX and institutional investors Circle, QRT, Ripple and SC Ventures.
- When
- Published October 6, 2026; described as an extension of the March ICE-led round.
OKX discount code and conditions ↓
The $25bn headline is a valuation, not the raise
OKX says it completed a strategic investment from Circle, Qube Research & Technologies (QRT), Ripple and Standard Chartered’s SC Ventures at a $25 billion pre-money valuation. The company calls the financing an extension of the ICE-led round announced in March. Its release does not state the round’s total cash amount, each investor’s contribution or the ownership share any backer will hold, so the $25 billion figure is not the amount raised.
OKX connects the four investors to existing parts of the financial infrastructure it wants to bring together. It identifies Circle as USDC’s issuer and QRT as an institutional counterparty that provides liquidity and risk capacity. Ripple’s payments and stablecoin expertise is linked to RLUSD, which is already available on OKX’s unified order book. Standard Chartered serves as custodian for BUIDL, the tokenized Treasury fund at the center of OKX’s work with BlackRock. Those are relationships described by OKX; the announcement does not say they are new products or the individual terms of the investment.
The earlier ICE investment provides context
In a post dated March 5, OKX said ICE had invested in the company and would join its board. OKX presented the relationship as a chance to explore how traditional exchange infrastructure and digital-asset technology might work together. It mentioned tokenized securities, institutional access and risk management as areas of interest, but did not set out a timetable for a public product.
The October release adds four names to the strategic-investor group, but it does not say that any of them will join the board. The earlier ICE announcement is useful history; it does not disclose the terms or cash size of the October extension.
What pre-money means in practical terms
A company valuation is an agreed or estimated worth; it is not the amount of money in the company’s bank account. The SEC’s small-business glossary distinguishes a pre-money valuation, set before a financing round, from a post-money valuation, which reflects the deal after new capital is added. The labels answer separate questions: the first describes the company’s negotiated value before the round, while the second includes money invested.
In a simplified financing, the post-money figure is the pre-money value plus the cash invested. The ownership percentage then depends on the amount contributed and the securities issued under the agreement. A valuation by itself cannot show how much money changed hands or what percentage an investor received. Since OKX has not disclosed the round size, readers cannot calculate a post-money value from its $25 billion pre-money figure. The SEC’s example explains the terminology; it is not a calculation for OKX.
The word strategic does not specify investor rights
Calling an investor strategic describes a business rationale, but it does not by itself show how an investment is structured. SEC guidance says investors can differ in their investment form, scale and level of involvement with a company. Some investors may contribute industry connections or advice; others may provide capital with less direct participation. The label and the investor’s name do not establish voting rights, board representation or operating duties.
That general distinction helps frame the OKX announcement. The release gives the names of the new backers and describes their links to the business, but those facts alone do not establish that they control the exchange or guarantee future liquidity, payments or custody services. Such rights and duties depend on the actual agreement, which OKX has not published.
What customers should take from the announcement
For customers, the announcement is about corporate financing rather than a change to account access, fees or a particular trading product. OKX says the capital will support its growth and work on tokenizing real-world assets, but gives no budget, timetable or market rollout. That intention describes a company priority; it does not tell users when a new feature will be available.
The clearest conclusion is that OKX has announced four additional strategic investors at a $25 billion pre-money valuation. The round’s cash size and the investors’ ownership terms remain undisclosed, and any practical effect on customers would need to be established by a separate product or market announcement.
20% off eligible trading fees
General exchange offer. A discount on the product in this story is not confirmed.
Conditions
Offer eligibility varies by product and region. Do not assume it applies to EU stock perps, Pre-IPO products or card payments. This is the general OKX exchange offer. Eligibility depends on your account, region and product; a discount on the specific product discussed in this story is not confirmed.
The code and partner link have no expiry. Campaign dates, benefits and eligibility are separate and may change. Check the provider’s current terms before signing up.
We may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
